Direct Answer
A dentist visit without insurance in Ventura costs $110 at Sunset Dental, covering all necessary digital X-rays, a comprehensive exam, and a regular cleaning, with a written treatment plan before any work. Other Ventura offices list the same visit at $230 to $378. A filling adds roughly $100 to $500 depending on size and material.
TL;DR
- $110 covers X-rays, exam, cleaning, and an itemized plan at Sunset Dental, every day, no insurance needed
- Other Ventura offices list the same first visit at $230 to $378; sub-$110 offers elsewhere skip the cleaning
- Fillings run $100 to $500 depending on surfaces, material, and tooth position
- Deep cleaning is priced per quadrant, $150 to $400 each, not as one flat fee
- Federal law entitles self-pay patients to a written Good Faith Estimate before scheduled treatment
- Medi-Cal dental moved some adults to emergency-only coverage on July 1, 2026
One liner: The real number is $110, and everything after it is priced in writing before you decide.
Key Numbers
| Figure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sunset Dental first visit, no insurance | $110 | Sunset Dental, 2026 [1] |
| Western Dental, CA regular price for checkup and X-rays | $378 | Western Dental, 2026 [2] |
| Avra Dental new patient special | $230 | Avra Dental, 2026 [3] |
| Johnson Family Dental, exam and X-rays only | $29 | Johnson Family Dental, 2026 [5] |
| National range, exam plus cleaning plus X-rays | $150 to $350 | 2026 cost guides [4] |
| Two-surface composite filling, back tooth (D2392) | $200 to $450 | Real Dental Costs, 2026 [8] |
| Deep cleaning, per quadrant (D4341) | $150 to $400 | Humana, Aspen Dental, 2026 [11][12] |
| Crown (D2740, D2750) | $800 to $2,000 | Dentistry.com, 2026 [13] |
| Good Faith Estimate dispute threshold | $400 over estimate | CMS, 45 CFR 149.610 [15] |
| Medi-Cal adult dental change | July 1, 2026 | California DHCS, 2026 [18] |
The Real Number: $110 for X-Rays, Exam, and Cleaning in Ventura
In short: A first visit without insurance costs $110 at Sunset Dental, and that price covers the three things a dentist needs to tell you where you stand.
A dentist visit without insurance in Ventura costs $110 at Sunset Dental. That price covers all necessary digital X-rays, a comprehensive exam with Dr. Ronald Atanay, and a regular cleaning. Elsewhere in Ventura, the same three services list at $230 to $378 [2][3]. The $110 rate is for patients without insurance and is available every day, not as a limited-time promotion [1].
Most cost guides for this question answer with a range. National pages put an exam, cleaning, and X-rays somewhere between $150 and $350, then tell you it depends on where you live [4]. It does depend on where you live, which is why a Ventura number matters more than a national one. Two Ventura offices publish their own figures. Western Dental lists the regular California price for a new patient checkup and X-rays at $378 [2]. Avra Dental on Victoria Avenue runs a $230 new patient special for an exam, digital X-rays, and a cleaning [3]. Sunset Dental at 1545 Morse Avenue charges $110 for the same three services [1].
Here’s what you walk out with for that $110 [1]:
- All necessary digital X-rays, which use about 90 percent less radiation than traditional film
- A comprehensive oral exam by Dr. Atanay, a UCLA School of Dentistry graduate with more than 35 years in practice
- A regular cleaning by the hygiene team
- A written treatment plan with itemized costs, before you commit to anything
That last item matters as much as the price. If the exam finds a cavity or worn filling, you leave knowing what it costs to fix before you decide anything. Sections 4 and 5 below show what those next steps typically run, and Section 6 covers your legal right to get that estimate in writing.
A few details worth knowing up front. The offer is for patients without insurance only, and it can’t be combined with other specials [1]. The cleaning included is a regular cleaning, the kind you’d get at a routine six-month visit. A deep cleaning for gum disease is a different procedure with a different price, and it’s covered in Section 5. Same-day appointments are available, and the office sees patients from Ventura, Oxnard, and Camarillo [1].
If you’ve been putting off a visit because you didn’t know what it would cost, the answer is $110. Book the $110 new patient special or call 805-676-1800.
What Other Ventura Offices Charge Without Insurance
In short: Four Ventura offices publish a new patient price for uninsured patients. Only one under $200 includes the cleaning.
When people search for a cheap dentist in Ventura, they usually find a headline number and stop reading. The headline number and the bill you pay are often two different things. Here’s what four Ventura offices published for uninsured new patients as of September 2026, and what each price actually covers.
| Office | Published price | Exam | X-rays | Cleaning | Itemized plan | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunset Dental, Morse Ave | $110 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | [1] |
| Johnson Family Dental | $29 | Yes | Yes | No | Not stated | [5] |
| Avra Dental, Victoria Ave | $230 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | [3] |
| Western Dental, E. Main St | Free (regular price $378) | Yes | Yes | No | Not stated | [2] |
| National range, all three | $150 to $350 | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | [4] |
Prices checked September 2026. Offices change specials. Confirm by phone before you book anywhere.
The two offers under $110 come with footnotes worth reading. Western Dental’s free checkup and X-rays exclude anyone with any dental coverage at all, including Medi-Cal, and the offer doesn’t include a cleaning [2]. Johnson Family Dental’s $29 special covers the exam and digital X-rays only [5]. Neither is a bad deal. They’re both diagnostic visits. If you want your teeth cleaned at the same appointment, you pay that office’s cleaning fee on top, and a regular adult cleaning in a private practice commonly runs $75 to $200 [4].
That’s the apples-to-apples problem with a lot of “affordable dentist” pages. A $29 visit plus a $120 cleaning is $149. A free visit plus a cleaning is whatever the cleaning costs. Sunset Dental’s $110 already has the cleaning in it, along with a written treatment plan with line-item prices before any work starts [1].
Avra Dental’s $230 special is the closest match, since it also bundles all three services [3]. It’s a legitimate offer from a solid practice. It’s also more than twice the price for the same first visit.
One more thing the table can’t show. Sunset Dental’s price isn’t a promotion with an end date. Dr. Atanay keeps it available every day because cost is the main reason people delay care, and delayed care turns small problems into expensive ones [1]. If you have a low income and no coverage, Ventura County also has sliding-scale community clinics, covered in Section 8.
The short version: the lowest price on a billboard isn’t always the lowest bill. For a first visit that includes the cleaning, $110 at Sunset Dental’s specials page is the lowest published figure in Ventura we found.
What the $110 Visit Includes, Line by Line
In short: The visit bundles three billable services, each with its own dental code. Knowing the codes lets you read any estimate from any office.
Every dental service has a code from the American Dental Association’s Current Dental Terminology, usually called a CDT code [6]. Offices use them for billing, and they show up on estimates and receipts. A first visit at Sunset Dental covers three of them [1]. Here’s what each one is, and what private practices commonly charge for it on its own [4].
| Service | CDT code | What it covers | Typical a la carte range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Comprehensive oral evaluation | D0150 | Full new patient exam: teeth, gums, bite, existing fillings and crowns, soft tissue | $75 to $200 |
| X-rays, “all necessary” | D0210, D0274, or D0330 | Full mouth series, four bitewings, or a panoramic image, chosen by the dentist | $35 to $250 |
| Adult prophylaxis | D1110 | Regular cleaning: plaque and tartar removal above and slightly below the gumline, then polish | $75 to $200 |
Ranges are typical private practice list prices reported in 2026 cost guides, not Sunset Dental fees [4]. Sunset Dental charges $110 for all three together [1].
The exam (D0150)
A comprehensive evaluation is the new patient version of an exam. It’s more thorough than the periodic exam (D0120) a returning patient gets every six months [6]. At Sunset Dental, Dr. Ronald Atanay does it himself. He trained at the UCLA School of Dentistry and has practiced for more than 35 years [1]. He checks gum health, your bite, and any existing restorations, and reviews your X-rays with you chairside [1].
The X-rays
“All necessary” means the dentist decides which images you need. A new patient often gets a full mouth series (D0210), which is 14 to 18 small images, or a single panoramic image (D0330) that captures both jaws in one shot. Returning patients usually get two to four bitewings (D0274), which show the areas between back teeth where cavities hide [6]. Sunset Dental uses digital sensors, which the practice states deliver about 90 percent less radiation than film [1].
X-rays are the part of a first visit people most often try to skip. They’re also the part that finds problems a mirror can’t. A cavity forming between two molars is invisible on a visual exam and obvious on a bitewing.
The cleaning (D1110)
This is the regular cleaning. A hygienist removes plaque and hardened tartar from the tooth surfaces and from the shallow space where the tooth meets the gum, then polishes [6]. It’s the cleaning a healthy mouth needs on the schedule your dentist sets, which the ADA says varies by patient rather than defaulting to every six months [21].
It is not a deep cleaning. If the hygienist measures gum pockets deeper than about 4 millimeters, or finds tartar well below the gumline, that’s periodontal disease, and the treatment is scaling and root planing (D4341). It’s billed per quadrant, meaning each quarter of your mouth is a separate charge [6]. Some cost guides list “deep cleaning $150 to $300” as if it were one price. Multiply by four if all quadrants need it. Section 5 covers what that costs.
The plan
After the cleaning, you get a written treatment plan with itemized costs [1]. If the exam found nothing, the plan says so and you’re done for $110. If it found a cavity, the plan lists the filling and its price. Nothing gets done that day unless you choose to schedule it. For the full list of what the office handles in-house, see general dentistry at Sunset Dental.
How Much Does a Filling Cost Without Insurance?
In short: A filling without insurance typically costs $100 to $500 in 2026, and three things set the price: how many surfaces of the tooth it covers, what it’s made of, and where the tooth sits.
If the $110 visit finds a cavity, the filling is the most common next step. It’s also the price people search for most. Here’s what a filling costs without insurance and, more usefully, why.
The three price drivers
| Driver | What it means | Effect on price |
|---|---|---|
| Surfaces | A tooth has five surfaces: top, front, back, and two sides. A cavity on one surface is a one-surface filling. One that wraps onto a second side is two surfaces. | Each added surface raises the fee, and the CDT code changes with it [6] |
| Material | Composite is tooth-colored resin bonded in layers and cured with light. Amalgam is the silver metal filling packed into the prepared tooth. | Composite costs more, since it takes more chair time and pricier material [8] |
| Tooth position | Front teeth (anterior) and back teeth (posterior) have separate codes. Molars are harder to reach and take more time. | Posterior composites carry a higher fee than anterior [6] |
What fillings cost in 2026
These are national private-practice ranges for uninsured patients, corroborated across three 2026 cost datasets [8][9][10]. Coastal California markets tend to sit in the upper half of a national range. Sunset Dental’s exact fee for your tooth appears on the written plan from your $110 visit [1].
| Filling | CDT code | 2026 range without insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Amalgam, one surface | D2140 | $100 to $250 |
| Amalgam, two or three surfaces | D2150, D2160 | $160 to $350 |
| Composite, one surface, front tooth | D2330 | $150 to $300 |
| Composite, one surface, back tooth | D2391 | $150 to $350 |
| Composite, two surfaces, back tooth | D2392 | $200 to $450 |
| Composite, three or more surfaces, back tooth | D2393, D2394 | $250 to $500 |
Ranges are not Sunset Dental fees. See the pre-publish note in Sources.
Reading your own quote
A worked example. The X-rays show decay on a lower first molar, starting on the chewing surface and running down the side that faces the tooth behind it. That’s two surfaces on a back tooth. If you choose composite, the code is D2392, and the 2026 range for it runs $200 to $450 [8][9]. If the estimate lists D2392 and a fee inside that band, it’s a normal quote. If it lists D2394 for what looks like a small spot, ask why. The answer might be that the decay spread further than it looked, which X-rays often reveal.
That’s the point of getting the code on paper. A number by itself tells you nothing. A code plus a number tells you what you’re buying.
How to check a Ventura number yourself
FAIR Health, an independent nonprofit built on insurer claims data, runs a free consumer cost estimator that shows what dentists bill for each CDT code in your area. It groups results by the first three digits of your ZIP, so a search from 93003 returns Ventura-area figures, shown as a range from the 20th to the 90th percentile of billed charges [7]. Search “FAIR Health Consumer” and enter the code from your estimate.
When a filling isn’t enough
Fillings hold when there’s enough healthy tooth around them. Once decay takes out a large share of the tooth, a filling can crack or the tooth can fracture around it, and the better repair is a crown. That’s the jump from a few hundred dollars to over a thousand, and it’s the reason Section 9 exists. For what the office handles in-house, see fillings and restorative care at Sunset Dental.
Deep Cleanings, Crowns, Extractions, and Root Canals: What Sets the Price
In short: Beyond a filling, the four most common next steps run from about $150 per quadrant for a deep cleaning to $800 to $2,000 for a crown. Each one has a specific reason it costs what it does.
Most first visits end with a clean bill or a filling. When they don’t, the treatment plan usually names one of these four. Here’s each one with its code, a 2026 range without insurance, and the thing that moves the price most. Ranges are national private-practice figures from 2026 cost datasets and insurer cost tools [4][8][11][12][13]. Your exact fee is on the written plan from your visit [1].
| Procedure | CDT code | 2026 range without insurance | Main price driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deep cleaning (scaling and root planing) | D4341 | $150 to $400 per quadrant | How many quadrants need it |
| Simple extraction | D7140 | $100 to $300 | Tooth is visible and loosens with instruments |
| Surgical extraction | D7210 | $200 to $650 | Gum opened or tooth sectioned; sedation adds cost |
| Root canal, front tooth | D3310 | $600 to $1,100 | One canal |
| Root canal, premolar | D3320 | $700 to $1,300 | Usually two canals |
| Root canal, molar | D3330 | $800 to $1,600 | Three or four canals |
| Crown | D2740, D2750 | $800 to $2,000 | Material and lab work; two visits |
Deep cleaning is priced per quadrant
This is the number most cost pages get wrong. Scaling and root planing treats gum disease by cleaning below the gumline and smoothing the root surface so the gum can reattach. It’s billed per quadrant, one of the four quarters of your mouth [6]. So “deep cleaning $250” means $250 for one quarter. Humana’s cost tool puts the per-quadrant range at $235 to $303, and Aspen Dental reports a nationwide average of $315 per quadrant, with the typical patient needing 2.5 quadrants [11][12].
The math: two quadrants at $250 is $500. All four at $300 is $1,200. Not everyone needs all four, and the exam tells you how many. After a deep cleaning, the follow-up cleanings are a different code, periodontal maintenance (D4910), which costs more than a regular cleaning because it goes deeper [6].
Extractions: simple vs surgical
A simple extraction is a tooth the dentist can see and remove with forceps under local anesthetic. A surgical extraction means opening the gum, sometimes removing a little bone, or cutting the tooth into pieces to get it out. Impacted wisdom teeth are the classic surgical case. Sedation, if you want it, is a separate line [13]. A general dentist handles most simple extractions. Surgical cases sometimes go to an oral surgeon, whose fee is usually higher.
Root canals: count the canals
A root canal cleans out infected pulp inside the tooth and seals the space. Price follows tooth anatomy. A front tooth has one canal. A premolar usually has two. A molar has three or four, and they curve [6]. More canals means more time, so the code and the fee climb from front to back [8][13]. Two things to budget for that the headline price leaves out. Molars are often referred to an endodontist, a root canal specialist, and a root-canaled back tooth almost always needs a crown afterward to keep it from cracking.
Crowns: why the range is wide
A crown is a cap that covers the whole tooth. The fee pays for two appointments, the preparation and the seating, plus a lab that fabricates the crown from an impression or scan. Material is the main variable. Porcelain fused to metal (D2750) sits at the lower end, all-ceramic (D2740) higher, and lab quality moves both [6][13]. If you have insurance, Sunset Dental takes $100 off the crown or bridge copay. That’s an insured-only offer and doesn’t apply to the $110 special [1].
Ask one question
For any of these, ask whether the fee is for a general dentist or a specialist referral, and whether it includes anesthesia, follow-up, and any crown that comes after. A complete answer is a complete price.
Your Right to a Written Estimate Before Any Work Starts
In short: Federal law entitles uninsured and self-pay dental patients to a written Good Faith Estimate before scheduled treatment. Ask for it by name.
Most cost guides tell you to “ask about pricing.” You can do better than ask. Under the No Surprises Act, which took effect January 1, 2022, a private dental office must give an uninsured or self-pay patient a written estimate of expected charges when a service is scheduled or when the patient requests one [14][15]. The rule sits at 45 CFR 149.610, and in February 2023 the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services confirmed to the American Dental Association that it applies to dentists [14].
The document is called a Good Faith Estimate. Here’s what it has to include [15]:
- A list of the services the dentist expects to provide, for a defined period
- The service codes for each one (the CDT codes from Sections 3 through 5)
- The expected charge for each item
- A notice that if the actual bill runs higher, you can ask the office to match the estimate, negotiate, or ask about financial help
- Information on how to dispute a bill
The timing: the office has three business days to deliver it after you ask, and it must arrive before a scheduled service [14]. The requirement doesn’t apply to emergencies or to work scheduled less than three days out, so for a same-day filling, ask for the estimate verbally and get it in writing before the next appointment [14].
The teeth in this rule: if the final bill comes in $400 or more above the estimate, you can start a federal patient-provider dispute process [15]. That $400 gap is the threshold. Below it, the estimate is still a useful negotiating document; above it, you have a formal remedy.
One scope note. If you carry a stand-alone dental plan, CMS generally considers you insured for this purpose, and the estimate requirement doesn’t automatically apply [14]. The right is strongest for the person this article is written for: no dental coverage at all.
At Sunset Dental, this isn’t a form you have to request. The $110 visit ends with a written treatment plan listing each recommended procedure and its cost, handed to you before you leave, not three days later [1]. If the plan says you need nothing, it says that too. If work starts and the dentist finds more than expected, ask for an updated estimate before continuing. That’s true at any office. A written estimate with codes also makes a second quote from another office easy to compare line by line.
The sentence to use anywhere: “I’m a self-pay patient. Please give me a Good Faith Estimate in writing.” An office that follows the law will know what you mean.
How Payment Plans Work at Sunset Dental
In short: Sunset Dental offers payment plan options and discusses the terms before treatment starts. Whatever office you use, know whether the plan is in-house or a lender, and read the interest terms twice.
Sunset Dental offers payment plan options for patients who need to spread out the cost of treatment, and the details are discussed before any work begins [1]. Ask about them when you call to schedule. That’s the office’s stated position, and it’s the right order: estimate first, plan second, treatment third.
Beyond that, here’s what every uninsured patient should understand about dental payment plans in general, because the phrase covers two different things.
| Feature | In-house plan | Third-party financing |
|---|---|---|
| Who you owe | The dental office | A lender (CareCredit, Sunbit, and similar cards or loans) |
| Credit check | Often none, or a soft check | Usually a hard credit application |
| Interest | Varies by office; many charge none | Often a deferred-interest promotion |
| If you miss the payoff window | Depends on the office’s terms | Interest can be charged back to day one |
The second row of that table is where people get hurt. Deferred interest means “no interest if paid in full within 12 months,” or a similar window. If the balance isn’t fully paid by the deadline, interest is assessed on the original amount from the purchase date, not from the deadline [16]. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau found that consumers paid about $1 billion in deferred interest on medical credit cards and loans from 2018 to 2020, and that these cards typically carry rates well above a general-purpose card [16]. Its examiners have also flagged complaints about how dental offices promote them [16].
None of that makes financing wrong. A lender can be the right choice for a $1,500 crown you need now. It means you should walk in knowing five answers before you sign anything:
- Is this the office’s own plan, or a lender?
- What’s the total I’ll pay with interest, and what’s the monthly amount?
- How long is the term, and is there a promotional window?
- What happens if I pay late or miss the window?
- Can I pay it off early with no penalty?
Two other things to ask any office. Some practices give a self-pay discount, commonly 10 to 20 percent, because they skip the cost of processing insurance claims [4]. Others sell an annual in-house membership plan that bundles preventive visits with discounted rates on other work [4]. Neither is insurance, and neither is advertised everywhere, so ask.
Two more ways to lower the cash you need. If you have a health savings account or flexible spending account, dental treatment is a qualified medical expense under IRS rules, so pre-tax dollars work [17]. And the number you’re financing should be the written estimate from Section 6, not a verbal guess. Get the estimate, then talk about the plan. Sunset’s payment plans and insurance page covers the office’s current options.
Medi-Cal, Community Clinics, and Other Options in Ventura County (2026 Rules)
In short: Medi-Cal dental changed on July 1, 2026. Some adults moved to emergency-only coverage. Ventura County also has sliding-scale clinics, and it helps to know where each option fits.
If you have no dental coverage, you may have looked at Medi-Cal. The rules changed this year, and many cost pages haven’t caught up.
What changed on July 1, 2026
Starting July 1, 2026, Medi-Cal stopped covering dental services, except emergencies, for members aged 19 and older who do not qualify for federal full-scope Medi-Cal [18]. This follows a January 1, 2026 freeze on new full-scope enrollment for the same group. Emergency dental, meaning treatment for severe pain, infection, and urgent problems, is still covered for affected members [18].
Several groups kept full Medi-Cal dental benefits regardless of immigration status [18]:
| Group | Medi-Cal dental after July 1, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Under age 19 | Full benefits |
| Pregnant, through one year postpartum | Full benefits |
| Former foster youth under 26, in care on their 18th birthday | Full benefits |
| Adults 19 and older who qualify for federal full-scope Medi-Cal | Full benefits |
| Adults 19 and older who do not | Emergency-only |
If you’re unsure which group you’re in, the Department of Health Care Services publishes an immigration status chart on its Medi-Cal Dental Benefit Changes page [18]. Income eligibility for Medi-Cal itself did not change.
Sliding-scale clinics in Ventura County
Clinicas del Camino Real is a Federally Qualified Health Center serving Ventura County. Federal rules require it to accept patients regardless of insurance status or ability to pay, with fees set on a sliding scale by household income and family size [20]. It has a Ventura location at 200 South Wells Road, plus sites in Oxnard and Camarillo, and it operates a mobile dental van. Call 805-647-6322 to ask about dental appointments and current wait times [20].
Ventura County Public Health’s Oral Health Program also maintains a list of community resources for low-income and uninsured residents, and helps county families apply for coverage through Health Care for All [19]. Both are worth a call if $110 is still out of reach this month.
Dental school clinics
University dental schools treat patients at 30 to 50 percent below private practice fees, with students working under licensed faculty [4][13]. The trade-off is time: appointments run long and scheduling can take weeks. The closest programs to Ventura are UCLA in Westwood, USC in Los Angeles, and Loma Linda, all more than 60 miles away. For a single filling, the drive usually cancels the savings. For a large course of treatment, it can be worth the trip.
Where a private office fits
A sliding-scale clinic is the lowest-cost door in the county, and wait times can be long. A private office’s list price for a first visit runs $230 to $378 in Ventura [2][3]. Sunset Dental’s $110 for X-rays, exam, and cleaning sits between the two: a private practice, same-day appointments available, at a price closer to the clinic end [1]. Patients from Ventura, Oxnard, and Camarillo are all welcome [1].
Dental discount plans, which charge an annual fee for reduced rates at participating dentists, exist as a fourth option. They aren’t insurance, and they only help at offices that accept them, so ask before buying one.
Why Waiting Costs More Than the Visit
In short: The same tooth costs a few hundred dollars to fix early and well over a thousand to fix late. The $110 visit is how you find out which one you have.
Every number in this article points the same direction. Here’s one tooth, a lower molar, priced at four stages using the ranges from Sections 4 and 5 [8][13].
| Stage | What it needs | CDT code | 2026 range without insurance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Early decay in the enamel, caught at a checkup | Watch it, or a small one-surface filling | D2391 | $150 to $350 |
| Decay into the dentin, two surfaces | Two-surface composite | D2392 | $200 to $450 |
| Decay reaches the pulp | Molar root canal | D3330 | $800 to $1,600 |
| After the root canal | Crown to protect the tooth | D2740 | $800 to $2,000 |
Stage one is a routine visit and a filling. Stage four is a root canal plus a crown, $1,600 to $3,600 on the same tooth, often across three or four appointments. Decay doesn’t announce itself at stage one. It usually doesn’t hurt until stage three, which is why people who wait for pain tend to arrive at the expensive end of the table.
Gums follow the same pattern. Early gum inflammation reverses with a regular cleaning, the D1110 included in the $110 visit. Left alone, it becomes periodontitis, and the treatment is scaling and root planing at $150 to $400 per quadrant [11][12].
A composite example, not a real patient: someone in Ventura skips the dentist for two years because there’s no insurance and no idea what a visit costs. A molar starts aching. The $110 visit finds decay into the pulp, and the plan lists a root canal and crown. Two years earlier, the same tooth was a filling.
This is the reason Sunset Dental keeps the $110 price available every day instead of running it as a limited promotion. In Dr. Atanay’s words on the practice’s site, cost is the main reason people put off dental care, and delaying care turns small problems into expensive ones [1].
One honest caveat. Not every cavity moves fast, and some first visits find nothing at all. That outcome costs $110 and buys you a clean set of X-rays, a cleaning, and a year of not wondering.
How to Book Your $110 Visit
In short: Call 805-676-1800 or book online, say you want the $110 new patient special without insurance, and come in. You leave with X-rays, a cleaning, and a written plan.
Booking takes one call. Here’s the whole process.
1. Call or book online. Phone 805-676-1800, or use the contact page to request an appointment. Same-day appointments are available [1]. The sentence to use: “I’d like to book the $110 new patient special. I don’t have insurance.” The offer is for patients without dental coverage and can’t be combined with other specials [1].
2. Come in. Sunset Dental is at 1545 Morse Avenue, Suite A, Ventura, CA 93003. Hours are Monday 9:00 am to 6:00 pm and Tuesday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, closed weekends [1]. Patients from Ventura, Oxnard, and Camarillo are welcome.
Bring:
- A photo ID
- A list of any medications you take
- Prior dental X-rays, if you have them and they’re recent
- Any questions you want answered before treatment
3. Leave with the plan. The visit runs in order: digital X-rays, reviewed chairside with Dr. Atanay; the comprehensive exam covering gums, bite, and existing restorations; a regular cleaning by the hygiene team; then a written treatment plan with itemized costs [1]. If the plan lists work, you decide when and whether to schedule it. Nothing beyond the $110 visit happens that day unless you choose it.
For more on what a first visit looks like, see the new patient information page.
The real number, the one this article promised, is $110. Everything that might come after it gets written down and priced before you decide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a dentist visit cost without insurance in Ventura?
A first visit without insurance costs $110 at Sunset Dental, covering all necessary digital X-rays, a comprehensive exam, and a regular cleaning. Other Ventura offices list the same three services at $230 to $378.
What does the $110 new patient special include?
All necessary digital X-rays, a comprehensive oral exam by Dr. Atanay, a regular cleaning, and a written treatment plan with itemized costs before any further work.
Is the $110 offer available if I have dental insurance?
No. The $110 special is for patients without dental insurance and can’t be combined with other offers. Insured patients get $100 off their crown or bridge copay instead.
Do dentists charge more if you don’t have insurance?
No. The base fee for a procedure is the same whether or not you have insurance. The difference is who pays it. Some offices offer a self-pay discount, so ask before your visit.
How much does a filling cost without insurance?
In 2026, a filling without insurance typically costs $100 to $500. Price depends on how many tooth surfaces it covers, whether it’s composite or amalgam, and whether the tooth is in front or back.
How much does a deep cleaning cost without insurance?
Scaling and root planing typically costs $150 to $400 per quadrant in 2026. Most people who need it require two to four quadrants, so a full course commonly runs $500 to $1,600.
How much does a crown cost without insurance?
A crown typically costs $800 to $2,000 without insurance in 2026. The range reflects material, lab work, and the two appointments involved.
How much does a root canal cost without insurance?
In 2026, a root canal typically costs $600 to $1,100 on a front tooth and $800 to $1,600 on a molar. Molars usually need a crown afterward, which is a separate cost.
Can I get dental prices in writing before treatment?
Yes. Under the No Surprises Act, uninsured and self-pay patients are entitled to a written Good Faith Estimate from a private dental office within three business days of asking, or before a scheduled service.
Does Sunset Dental offer payment plans?
Yes. Sunset Dental offers payment plan options and discusses the details before any treatment begins. Ask about them when you call to schedule.
Does Medi-Cal cover adult dental in 2026?
It depends on eligibility. Since July 1, 2026, Medi-Cal covers only emergency dental for members 19 and older who don’t qualify for federal full-scope Medi-Cal. People under 19, pregnant members, and former foster youth under 26 keep full benefits.
Are there sliding-scale dental clinics in Ventura County?
Yes. Clinicas del Camino Real is a Federally Qualified Health Center with sliding-scale fees based on income, with locations in Ventura, Oxnard, and Camarillo. Ventura County Public Health also lists oral health resources.
How often should I see a dentist if I don’t have insurance?
The American Dental Association says there’s no one-size-fits-all schedule. Some people need one or two visits a year, others more, based on their risk. The exam at your first visit is where that schedule gets set for you.
What does an emergency dental visit cost without insurance?
Sunset Dental offers same-day appointments. New patients without insurance can book the $110 special, which includes the X-rays and exam needed to diagnose a painful tooth. Any treatment is priced in writing before work begins.
Does Sunset Dental see patients from Oxnard and Camarillo?
Yes. Sunset Dental welcomes new patients from Ventura, Oxnard, and Camarillo at its Morse Avenue office in Ventura.
Definition Bank
| Term | Plain-English definition |
|---|---|
| CDT code | The American Dental Association’s billing code for each dental procedure. It appears on estimates and receipts. |
| Comprehensive oral evaluation (D0150) | The full new patient exam covering teeth, gums, bite, existing dental work, and soft tissue. |
| Prophylaxis (D1110) | A regular cleaning that removes plaque and tartar from tooth surfaces and slightly under the gumline. |
| Scaling and root planing (D4341) | A deep cleaning below the gumline that treats gum disease. Billed per quadrant. |
| Quadrant | One quarter of the mouth: upper left, upper right, lower left, or lower right. |
| Bitewing | A small X-ray that shows the areas between back teeth where cavities hide. |
| Panoramic X-ray | A single image that captures both jaws and all teeth in one shot. |
| Composite filling | A tooth-colored resin filling bonded in layers and hardened with light. |
| Amalgam filling | A silver-colored metal filling packed into the prepared tooth. |
| Surface | One of the five sides of a tooth. Fillings are priced by how many surfaces they cover. |
| Good Faith Estimate | A written estimate of expected charges that federal law requires for uninsured and self-pay patients. |
| Deferred interest | A financing promotion where interest is waived only if the balance is paid in full by a deadline. Miss it, and interest is charged from day one. |
| Federally Qualified Health Center | A community clinic that receives federal funding and must serve patients regardless of ability to pay, on a sliding fee scale. |
| Emergency-only Medi-Cal dental | Coverage limited to treatment for pain, infection, and urgent problems, with no routine care. |
Entity Cards
Sunset Dental
| Property | Value |
|---|---|
| Address | 1545 Morse Ave, Suite A, Ventura, CA 93003 |
| Phone | 805-676-1800 |
| Hours | Mon 9:00 am to 6:00 pm; Tue to Fri 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; closed weekends |
| Dentist | Dr. Ronald Atanay, DDS, UCLA School of Dentistry, 35+ years |
| First visit without insurance | $110: X-rays, exam, cleaning, written plan |
| Service area | Ventura, Oxnard, Camarillo |
Good Faith Estimate (dental, self-pay)
| Property | Value |
|---|---|
| Law | No Surprises Act, effective January 1, 2022 |
| Regulation | 45 CFR 149.610 |
| Who’s entitled | Uninsured and self-pay patients at private dental offices |
| Timing | Within 3 business days of a request, or before a scheduled service |
| Contents | Services, codes, expected charge per item, dispute notice |
| Dispute threshold | Bill at least $400 above the estimate |
Medi-Cal Dental change, July 1, 2026
| Property | Value |
|---|---|
| Effective date | July 1, 2026 |
| Moved to emergency-only | Members 19 and older who don’t qualify for federal full-scope Medi-Cal |
| Kept full benefits | Under 19; pregnant through one year postpartum; former foster youth under 26 |
| Still covered for everyone | Emergency dental: pain, infection, urgent problems |
| Where to check | DHCS Medi-Cal Dental Benefit Changes page |
Sources
- Sunset Dental, Dental Specials in Ventura, CA. sunsetdentalventura.com/specials/. Page modified August 2, 2026. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- Western Dental, Dentist in Ventura, CA, 2750 East Main Street (new patient offer and California regular price). westerndental.com. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- Avra Dental, Your Trusted Dentist in Ventura, CA ($230 new patient special). avradental.com. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- MySmile Dental Care, How Much Does a Dentist Visit Cost Without Insurance? Average 2026 Prices. Updated June 5, 2026. Used to characterize national ranges only.
- Johnson Family Dental, Affordable Dentist in Ventura, CA ($29 exam and digital X-rays special). johnsonfamilydental.com. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- American Dental Association, CDT 2026: Current Dental Terminology, code descriptions for D0120, D0150, D0210, D0274, D0330, D1110, D2140 to D2394, D2740, D2750, D3310 to D3330, D4341, D4910, D7140, D7210.
- FAIR Health Consumer, About Our Data and How We Estimate Cost, fairhealthconsumer.org, 2026. Cited by name; not linked per the site’s licensing terms.
- Real Dental Costs, Tooth Filling Cost in 2026 and procedure benchmarks by CDT code, 2026.
- DentalPrice.org, Dental Filling Cost Without Insurance: What You Need to Know in 2026. Published February 12, 2026.
- CoveredUSA, How Much Does a Dental Filling Cost Without Insurance in 2026? June 9, 2026.
- Humana, How much does scaling and root planing cost? humana.com dental resources, 2026.
- Aspen Dental, Dental Deep Cleaning Cost, pricing and cost factors (nationwide average per quadrant), 2026.
- Dentistry.com, How Much Is a Dentist Visit Without Insurance? Exact Costs Explained. Reviewed by Dr. Jody Bardash, DMD. Updated February 24, 2026.
- ADA News, ADA receives clarification on No Surprises Act (CMS confirmation that dental providers must give good faith estimates to uninsured and self-pay patients). February 2023.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, No Surprises Act, Good Faith Estimates for Uninsured or Self-Pay Individuals, 45 CFR 149.610, and patient-provider dispute resolution ($400 threshold).
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Medical Credit Cards and Financing Plans report, May 2023, and Supervisory Highlights, July 2024.
- Internal Revenue Service, Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses (dental treatment as a qualified expense for HSA and FSA purposes).
- California Department of Health Care Services, Medi-Cal Dental Benefit Changes effective July 1, 2026. dhcs.ca.gov. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- Ventura County Public Health, Oral Health Program. hca.venturacounty.gov/public-health/oralhealth/. Accessed September 4, 2026.
- Clinicas del Camino Real, Inc., Federally Qualified Health Center, Ventura County (sliding fee scale under HRSA Section 330 requirements). clinicas.org. Verified September 4, 2026.
- American Dental Association, MouthHealthy, How often should I go to the dentist? (no one-size-fits-all schedule; frequency set by the dentist). Accessed September 4, 2026.